Government & Media

There are several ways to help the Santa Ynez Valley Alliance protect our Valley. You can help by joining the Santa Ynez Valley Alliance , expressing your personal views to officials who were elected to represent you, and/or by writing letters to the editors of our local media.

E-mail, fax and mail letters regarding topics of concern to the contacts below. The Santa Ynez Valley Alliance would enjoy receiving a copy of your correspondence.

Elected Officials

County of Santa Barbara
Doreen Farr, 3rd Dist. Supvr. 
City of Buellton
City of Solvang
Pedro Nava, State Assembly
Tony Strickland, State Senate
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Governor
Elton Gallegly, US Representative
Barbara Boxer, US Senator
Dianne Feinstein, US Senator

State Links
Regional Links 

County Links
City Links
Community Links


Santa Ynez Valley News
Santa Barbara News-Press
Santa Maria Times
Santa Barbara Independent

Santa Barbara County

Elected officials and other public servants within Santa Barbara County government frequently make decisions having immediate impact on life in the Santa Ynez Valley. Fortunately, many of them respond to public input. Your letters and emails matter!
To review emerging issues at the Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors, click on the link below:

Board of Supervisors Agenda and Minutes

Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors
105 E. Anapamu Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors, 3rd District
The Santa Ynez Valley is located within the 3rd District of Santa Barbara County; our current Supervisor is Doreen Farr:

Doreen Farr
105 E. Anapamu St., 4th Fl.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone: 568-2192
Fax: 568-2883
Solvang: 686-5095
Fax: 686-8133

Other Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors: 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th Districts
Although Districts 1, 2, 4, and 5 encompass areas outside of the Santa Ynez Valley, supervisors regularly cast votes on ordinances affecting us. It is often helpful to forward a copy of your comments to them as well.

1st District: Salud Carbajal, Vice Chair
Phone: 568-2186
Fax: 568-2534

2nd District: Janet Wolf
Phone: 568-2191
Fax: 568-2283

4th District: Joni Gray
Lompoc: 737-7700
Santa Maria: 346-8407

5th District: Joseph Centeno (Chair)
Santa Maria: 346-8400
Fax: 346-8404

Santa Barbara County Planning Commission
123 E. Anapamu Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Hearing Support Staff:

David Villalobos, Board Assistant Supervisor
(805) 568-2058

U.S. Senate

Barbara Boxer
1700 Montgomery St., #240
San Francisco, CA 94111

Dianne Feinstein
One Post St., #2450
San Francisco, CA 94104

U.S. Representative, 24th District

Rep. Elton Gallegly
2829 Townsgate Rd., Ste. 315
Thousand Oaks, CA 91361-3018

State Senator, 19th District

Tony Strickland
223 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd., Ste. 326
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360

State Assembly, 35rd District

Pedro Nava
101 W. Anapamu St., Ste. A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Office of the Governor

Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-445-2841
Fax: 916-445-4633

Local Media

Santa Ynez Valley News
P.O. Box 647
Solvang, CA 93464
Fax: (805) 688-7685

Santa Barbara News-Press
P.O. Box 1359
Santa Barbara, CA 93102
Fax: (805) 966-6258

Santa Maria Times
P.O. Box 400
Santa Maria, CA 93456-00400
Fax: (805) 928-5657

Santa Barbara Independent
122 West Figueroa Street
Santa Barbara CA 93101
Fax: (805) 965-5518

STATE LINKS (California)

The Brown Act

California Coastal Commission

Governor’s Office

Governor’s Office of Planning and Research

CEQA (California Environmental Quality Act)

Caltrans (Dept. of Transportation)

State of California Planning and Development Links

CERES: The California Environmental Resources Evaluation System

The California Coastal Act

California Department of Water Resources (DWR)


Central Coast Water Authority

The Community Indicators Project

Indicators Project/UCSB – South Coast Sustainable Indicators

Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

COUNTY LINKS (Santa Barbara County)

“How to get Involved in Planning” in Santa Barbara County

County of Santa Barbara

Boards and Commissions

Board of Supervisors

Board of Architectural Review

Planning Commission Agenda and Staff Reports

Planning and Development

Parks Commission

County Departments

Community and Regional Planning Areas

SBCAG (SB County Association of Governments)

Community Links


City of Buellton

City of Solvang

City of Solvang

City Manager’s Welcome

City Council Meetings and Minutes


City News

SBCAG (SB County Association of Governments)

Los Olivos

Community Information

Links and Contacts

Santa Ynez

Draft Santa Ynez Valley Community Plan

Los Alamos

Los Alamos Planning Area


Gaviota Coast Planning Area

Board of Architectural Review and Planning Commission